Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Underdrive Pulley question...

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2012, 03:49 AM
cboisits
2nd Gear Member

Default Underdrive Pulley question...

I have that "modification itch" and I'm going with the UDP! I have a couple questions.
1. How many accessories are putting parasitic drag on the engine? (A/C, Power steering, and water pump?)
2. How do these accessories run now that the serpentine belt isn't running them?
3. Is my A/C going to work just as good afterwards.

I get the feeling that these are stupid questions but I am a newbie so your advice is greatly appreciated. Also...
4. How much is it to have someone install it instead of doing it myself?
5. BBK?...Steeda?...What do you guys think is the best brand?
6. With my 2006 GT having 49K miles on it, should I replace the serpentine belt as well?
Thanks in advance!
Old 02-25-2012, 08:28 AM
Lifter583
4th Gear Member

I have Steeda UDP's on my 06 GT...everything runs fine...as far as the belt...if it is not cracking or showing much wear I would leave it on...i picked up 4 hp on the dyno after installing them...had the shop pop them on...
Old 02-25-2012, 09:23 AM
DTMR
2nd Gear Member

as long as you know how to take the pulleys off and loosen and tighten the auto tensioner you should be fine. pulleys do make a difference and so do the crank dampener. The power steering and A/C do suck a little power out. Steeda is a good brand and I would recommend changing the belt just so you wouldn't have to do it twice (or pay labor twice if you do it at the shop) since the belts already gonna be off.
Old 02-25-2012, 10:27 AM
duckbubbles
2nd Gear Member

I ran the Steeda's for 40,000 miles (pre-blower) and never had any problems. They are also worth 1 to 1.5 mpg. Engine seemed to rev a little more freely.

Frank
Old 02-25-2012, 11:20 AM
tj@steeda
3rd Gear Member

Talking