Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Need Help! Newbie. 2008 Mustang GT

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2014, 11:39 AM
jz78817
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Bobby_Sparks
So you guys don't think it has anything to do with the o2 sensors?
no. Especially not more than one at a time. The only thing I think would cause that is if someone put leaded gas in there, and you have to try really hard to find that.

I mean I'm completely new to this stuff but my understanding would be since it doesn't have catalytic converters on the back, the stock tune is reading/or wanting to compensate for something thats not there. An after market bama tune would have probably turned them off correct? Thanks for the help so far!
No. The PCM uses the upstream O2 sensors (the ones before the cats) to monitor the actual engine management functions. Both of yours are throwing "always lean/excess oxygen in exhaust stream" codes which means both cylinder banks are running lean. Your O2 sensors are working correctly by telling the PCM that something isn't right, and the PCM throwing codes because it can't make the engine run right. Like I said, I'd bet real money you have a vacuum leak. Your engine uses mass-airflow (MAF) air metering. The MAF sensor tells the PCM how much air is coming into the engine, and it calculates the fuel delivery based on that. When you have a vacuum leak, extra air is being pulled into the intake. The PCM has no idea about this extra air because it's not passing through the MAF sensor. your engine is now running lean, the O2 sensors tell it so, the PCM can't figure out how much extra fuel it needs to add, and then just says "I give up" and sets codes.

Last edited by jz78817; 02-22-2014 at 11:43 AM.
Old 02-22-2014, 12:09 PM
Bobby_Sparks