Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Issues putting on mufflers

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2015, 10:29 AM
James07GT

Default Issues putting on mufflers

Can someone tell me why im having issues tightening the 13mm bolts to the hanger. Im new to this. I thought it was the bolts so I bought new ones but that didnt work. Im using a 13mm rachet wrench to tighten them.
Old 01-31-2015, 07:29 PM
jz78817
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by James07GT
Can someone tell me why im having issues tightening the 13mm bolts to the hanger. Im new to this. I thought it was the bolts so I bought new ones but that didnt work. Im using a 13mm rachet wrench to tighten them.
might help if you told us what mufflers you're putting on and what issues you're having.
Old 01-31-2015, 11:26 PM
James07GT

pretty sure the muffler has nothing to do with it but im guessing its the flowmasters 40 series. The problem is Ive lost two hangers and 2 13mm bolts because they fell off while I was driving. Its because I cant tighten them with the rachet wrench I have. When I go over a bump they will fall off.
Old 02-01-2015, 07:55 AM
bstang14
2nd Gear Member

Take a tip from a former Harley rider. Put no bolt or nut on without blue loctite. Having said that you need to be able to tighten it to begin with.
Old 02-02-2015, 06:19 AM
Scott2
2nd Gear Member

Does this illustrate the bolts you are having trouble with?

Name:  IMG_1043Medium_zps19fc0553.jpg
Views: 90
Size:  142.7 KB

Have you tried tightening the bolts without the hangers in place, does this work? If not it sounds like the nuts inside the frame rails have been stripped. Stripping all four nuts is odd but I guess if an impact gun was used by someone not very careful, that could do it.

Hopefully others will have some ideas here, but you may need to drill and tap the "blind" nuts for larger diameter bolts.
Old 02-02-2015, 10:58 AM
ghunt
3rd Gear Member