2005 GT head removal - MustangForums.com

Go Back   MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > 2005-2014 Mustangs > GT S197 General Discussion > 4.6L V8 Technical Discussions
Search

4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

2005 GT head removal

Old 01-05-2016, 05:08 PM   #1
Antny370

Vehicle: 2005 Mustang GT Convertible
Default 2005 GT head removal

I changed the defective plugs. Broke only 3. Bought the removal tool. Success on all but 1. The plug's metal tip literally broke off in the cylinder because the tool pushed the electrode too far in. Now I have a small piece of non-magnetic metal in the cylinder. I've tried everything I can think of to get it out with no success. I am now planning to remove the head while in the car. I am not a novice mechanic, however, I have never worked on a modular engine. Advice, tips, tricks, etc, will be much appreciated!
Antny370 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 08:57 PM   #2
Goldenpony
5th Gear Member

Have you maybe tried something sticky on the end of a stiff (coat hanger) wire? There must be some way short of pulling the head. Good luck.
18" "Fanblade Wheels"
CORSA Performance exhaust
Brenspeed 87 octane performance tune
MGW Shifter
Goldenpony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2016, 01:33 AM   #3
Simon1
5th Gear Member

Vehicle: 2006 Mustang GT

All three guys I have seen pull the heads take the engine out. Usually through the bottom.

Best of luck and let us know how it turns out.

Motor Built by ST Motorsports
Tuned By Tony at Tuners Inc

11.05@129
Simon1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2016, 06:23 PM   #4
Antny370

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldenpony View Post
Have you maybe tried something sticky on the end of a stiff (coat hanger) wire? There must be some way short of pulling the head. Good luck.
Yea man, I've tried that too. I even bought a bore scope to try to locate it but it was basically a piece of crap. I tried vacuuming too.