Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

newbie here, what's best bang for your buck HP gains?

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2016, 11:01 AM
jwog666
5th Gear Member

basically its like this........
small gains - big money = bolt ons
big money - big gains = forced induction
its been discussed over and over, but its been proven if you want anything close to a large gain in power and torque a power adder is a must, and since nitrous is basically only economical at the track, forced induction is the go to.
Old 05-12-2016, 03:15 PM
danzcool
5th Gear Member

Originally Posted by ghunt
Eh...I still contest it.

For one, you don't need the CMDP's if you get the Ford Racing Intake. (side note, did Steeda stop selling their "economy" CMDP's?). I made mine for $50, I would never spend $280 on those.

Additionally I'd knock $1200 off for the TB and Ford Racing intake anyway. The throttle body nets almost nothing and the intake isn't worth getting for a street car IMO. And how many people really buy the electric water pump? Plus, I don't know why you would buy a $400 dyno tune for a bolt-on n/a setup (not to mention the fact Lito can do a tune for you for $150 if you really want one). And you need the tuner with a supercharger too.