Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Transmissions: Manual & Auto Tech

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2007, 12:15 PM
ccwebb
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Transmissions: Manual & Auto Tech

Hello All,

I am currently considering an auto Mustang but I'm a total novice when it comes to the technical aspects of transmissions and upgrades. My question is whether I should go with an auto? The car will be a daily driver but of course I still want the car to perform. I don't mind investing in after market parts to achieve this but I don't know what is required, the ballpark costs or what would be achieved.

Thanks for your help in figuring this out.
Old 11-20-2007, 09:39 AM
lowrider02

Looking for some help on my 2007 GT 5-speed with 3.13 stock gears. When shifting, the RPMs race up a bit in between gears when the clutch pedal is pressed and foot off the gas. Themore I accelerate, the more the RPMs float up in between gears. Is this common? The car only has 4800 miles on it and the dealer doesn't know how to address it since they said the computer is controlling this.Everything checks out on their analyzer. This doesn't seem to occur when downshifting.

Another thing I noticed is when in 5th gear at approximayely 70 mph and 1800-1900 RPM, there's a slight droning sound. The sound quickly goes away when I hit 2000 RPM and doesn't occur in 5th gear prior to 1800 RPM. Are these common characteristics of the car?

Need help from someone with experience on this issue or if this is normal. Any comments are appreciated.
Old 12-22-2007, 01:34 AM
Thief_of_Hearts
I ♥ Acer

why do people buy performance shifters? like the BM or pistol grip types,do they serve any real purpose or just look cool?

when launching a high hp(450-490) rwd auto like the GT do you guys bust loose the tires and still loose traction when it's shifting gears under wot like a manual or are they a little more civilized?