How To: Repin your harness - MustangForums.com



4 Cylinder NA and Turbo This section is for questions pertaining to stock or modified 4 cylinders, including the performance 2.3L applications

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-17-2008, 07:30 PM   #1
sleeper_inc
6th Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
sleeper_inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Regina Beach, Sask
Posts: 9,991
Default How To: Repin your harness

How to re-pin a harness. I'm using a 1989 harness from a 2.3 manual car. It should be the same for a 1987-1990 mustan with either a auto or manual transmission (since its only the computer to engine bay harness)


This is a wiring harness out of a 1987-1990 mustang 2.3. Its the computer to engine bay harness.



The protective black case on top helps stop the pins from backing out and also protechs them from rubbing on metal and shorting out.


Here I took the case off to get at the pins using a small screw driver.


Another way of keeping the pins in is this red casing. Remove it using a small flat headed screw driver with a back and forth motion (like in the next picture)




The inner casing has been removed, and now the pins are ready to be removed.


**Make sure to number what side has what number of pin to make it easier to see where the pins go (trust me, this helps alot because then you don't have to move the harness back and forth between yourself and the computer).


I found using a small zip tie works well for taking the pin out without damaging it in any way shape or form.



List what color wire is going to do what (stops you from getting confused and wiring it incorrecty)(Quilty of doing that)





This is how I joined the two wires without cutting a connection. Stip the insolation off the wire being connected (about a 1/4") then strip and cut about the same from the wiring being connected to. Then solder the joints together, and then tape to keep them from touching, causing them to short out.


Since my wiring harness was out, I connected them higher up to make it cleaner and look stock(ish).


Had to drill a hole through the gromit because of the gauge of wiring I used, but its also a blessing because it made it easier to move the wiring closer to the wall for a mounting point.


I also deleted my A/C condenser and clutch lines since I longer want A/C


Wiring all together and ready to be installed

sleeper_inc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 08:23 PM   #2
Stang2.3
4th Gear Member
 
Stang2.3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 1,342
Default RE: How To: Repin your harness

Awesome bro.... Now about how long do these wire need to be?
Stang2.3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 08:57 PM   #3
sleeper_inc
6th Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
sleeper_inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Regina Beach, Sask
Posts: 9,991
Default RE: How To: Repin your harness

I made mine about 7 feet, and I cut the extra off
sleeper_inc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 08:59 PM   #4
Stang2.3
4th Gear Member
 
Stang2.3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 1,342
Default RE: How To: Repin your harness

Sweet.... so now i need wire.......
Stang2.3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 05:52 PM   #5
Stang2.3
4th Gear Member
 
Stang2.3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 1,342
Default RE: How To: Repin your harness

bump...... workin on wiring
Stang2.3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 06:03 PM   #6
Stang2.3
4th Gear Member
 
Stang2.3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 1,342
Default RE: How To: Repin your harness

havin problems takin the pins out.... how you get them out??
Stang2.3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 08:06 PM   #7
sleeper_inc
6th Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
sleeper_inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Regina Beach, Sask
Posts: 9,991
Default RE: How To: Repin your harness

I used a zip tie, shoved the little pointed end into the clip holding the pin inplace.
sleeper_inc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 08:11 PM   #8
Stang2.3
4th Gear Member
 
Stang2.3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 1,342
Default RE: How To: Repin your harness

i got em thankz bro!
Stang2.3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 08:25 PM   #9
sleeper_inc
6th Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
sleeper_inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Regina Beach, Sask
Posts: 9,991
Default RE: How To: Repin your harness

No problem, its alot easier to do it this way that with something metal. Plastic bends, metal dosen't[&:]
sleeper_inc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 08:32 PM   #10
Stang2.3
4th Gear Member
 
Stang2.3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 1,342
Default RE: How To: Repin your harness

No Problem.... so all i need to wire is four wires???
Stang2.3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My idea of Best Bang for Your Buck Car. What do you guys think? mungodrums 5.0L GT S550 Tech 7 10-07-2015 04:01 AM
Starting a new project....could use some input. Matt's 95 Stang 5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang 2 10-05-2015 07:16 AM
04 Mach 460 system, Installed Aftermarket HU, No Highs/Tweeters breaking Audio/Visual Electronics 5 10-02-2015 01:27 PM
Help! Metra 70-5521 AMP Harness Install cbird1177711 2005-2014 Mustangs 2 09-03-2015 08:43 PM
Best Place To Run Power Wire/Firewall '08 cbird1177711 2005-2014 Mustangs 3 09-02-2015 08:51 PM


Tags
23, body, computer, cut, fox, harness, pin, repin, repinning, repintool, sn95, turbo, wire, wires, wiring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.