4 Cylinder NA and Turbo This section is for questions pertaining to stock or modified 4 cylinders, including the performance 2.3L applications

Turbo manifold..

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2010, 04:46 PM
Svtwv

Default Turbo manifold..

Im looking to upgrade my manifold.I was going to just replace it with a new tublular style one from ebay that retains stock turbo location. However I recently ordered a new turbo setup an it isnt internally gated. So I will need an external wastegate. I noticed on the Stinger center mount manifold that it has a flange for a wastegate. Now is this my only option? Or can u add the flange to the other style manifold? Im new to turbo setups an stuff so any help with be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Old 09-21-2010, 09:46 PM
TRBOPWR
4th Gear Member

That is certainly the easiest option, adding a flange would definitely ruin the looks, and you would probably end up with junk on the inside that's tough to get to. Whatever you do, be real sure to brace the manifold as much as you can, the tubular ones are susceptible to cracking.

Also: I can't vouch for current production, but I bought a "Stinger" manifold a couple years ago straight from Stinger's website. It arrived at my doorstep in an XSPower box (the cheaper "ripoffs" on ebay). I have heard that he switched suppliers, but it is something to look into further.
Old 09-21-2010, 10:14 PM
sleeper_inc
6th Gear Member

Get a bobs long and you'll never have to worry about it cracking, he even has an option of the wastegate flange
Old 09-22-2010, 10:53 AM
Svtwv