4 Cylinder NA and Turbo This section is for questions pertaining to stock or modified 4 cylinders, including the performance 2.3L applications

2.3 Mini Stock Engine Ideas

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2012, 01:53 AM
1990boostang
2nd Gear Member

Default 2.3 Mini Stock Engine Ideas

Ok guys here is dilemma... I have had multiple fox body's all being 5.0's. I have built multiple fox body's all being 5.0's. I bought a notchback roller yesterday and mt plan is building a roundy round car for our local track. My first question is what year engine do i need to hunt for/ I want a carbed car with distributor. My buddy has a 2.3 buts a 8 plug engine and the oil pump is where the dizzy whole should be? I am going to run a five speed also. Any help on this will be greatly appreciated. I have no knowledge on a 2.3 at all. I dont care to convert a engine to carbed but the 8 plug engines wont work.
Old 06-27-2012, 05:45 AM
jpplaw
3rd Gear Member

I built a 1985 2.3 mini stock engine before. Head was ported, with 2.02 & 1.60 chevy valves. Chevy 5.7 length rods. Got the cam from raceengineering in Florida. Ran like a beast.
Old 07-04-2012, 01:22 PM
vern2.3

You can use you 8-plug head for parts and once it's stripped it can be a nice door stop or a boat anchor.

My advice is to go find a D-port head from a 1980s car or Ranger. Use your EFI lower intake manifold and an adapter from Esslinger to mount a Holley 500cfm 2-barrel.

If the rules allow you to run a crank-trigger ignition, get a kit and use with the existing ignition. If you have to run a distributor I recommend buying a one for an early 1980s 2.3 and hooking it to a factory Duraspark control box.

That gives you the advantage of having variable advance instead fixed advance like guys running the TFI distributors. Plus the Duraspark system is not as prone to heat problems like the TFI system is.