5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

bring this 89 gt convert back to life

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2006, 11:25 PM
Dagan

Default bring this 89 gt convert back to life

I Really love my 89 gt convertible but I think its time to upgrade and make this vehicle come alive again.

I just recently removed a 351 from a FedEx truck, the block and tran was bran new.

My question is something that many wondered at one point, that is where to start….
I am going to redo the entire car and by redoing I mean everything from ground effects to paint to new top to interior to painting or polishing everything on this car. O ya and trying to drop this 351 in.

I’m a novice doing this type of work, I mostly help remove motors and work along side my brothers. luckily my two brothers who are mechanics are willing to help.

I would like to drop a blower on this puppy just because I feel this would produce some sick horsepower and look nasty at the same time, but was wondering what you guys thought and what you all might do if you could start where I’m at now.

I know it is more cost effective to drop the 351 in and carb it and I like that because it will allow me to do other things with my budget, but I would like to know more about it and what things I should do to make this car bada@@.

Basically I would like to know whats the best bang for the buck?

Thanks for your help.

Dan
Virginia
Old 05-24-2006, 12:22 AM
FiveLiterRiceEater
5th Gear Member

Default RE: bring this 89 gt convert back to life

cut a big hole in the stock hood and get a roots blower with two holleys sittin on it...and a butterfly catcher
Old 05-24-2006, 12:26 AM
FiveLiterRiceEater
5th Gear Member

like this!
Old 05-24-2006, 12:28 AM
ooticamitica
4th Gear Member

thats sic :-D
Old 05-24-2006, 01:29 AM
r.barn
6th Gear Member

Mad Max style "its the blower man the blower"