5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Roadside issue

Old 09-19-2007, 01:34 PM
DeltaElite121
2nd Gear Member

Default Roadside issue

Alright, I'm just going to start off with the fact I am still learning about cars, and more specifically I am VERY new to 5.0's.

I just purchased one not long ago, and the engine and transmission are essentially new, and run great. I was heading down to the gas station after cranking it up to make sure everything looks/sounds right to my knowledge, and when coming home we smelled something burning. Seconds afterwards we hear the belt rubbing. Smoke starts pouring out from the hood so we immediately pull over because I really didn't want to risk destroying the car and pissing down alot of money after a rebuild. Turns out the belts got loose and burned a section of it off and snapped.

The battery was also (coveniently) very weak, and nearly dead so we called someone we knew for a jump to see if we could get the car back to my house since it was literally a 1/4th mile away from my house. While trying to crank it, the starter apparently jammed while cranking and we cut one of the power wires to stop it before it fried up the starter, alternator, or something along those lines. It was trying to turn for about 30-45 seconds, which is a considerably long time.

Question is - from the information I have provided, what is the very worst extent of the damage I should expect? I already know I need a new belt. That's a given.The car still easily tried to start after we cut the wire, but I assume I may need another starter. I don't think the engine seized up, because otherwise it probably wouldn't do anything at all.