5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Strait Pipe Vs. X/H

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2008, 11:38 AM
TonyT3hSleeper

Default Strait Pipe Vs. X/H

Hey Folks, Im doing some upgrades to my Stang, after getting most of the other kinks out of it other than cosmeic. When I got the car it had Ford Shorty Headders on it mounted to a custom strait pipped exhaust, just 2 pipes (one from each headder) all the way to the tips in the back, there are no cats nor mufflers on the car would i get a higher horsepower yeild from having an H or X or just leave the thing as is?

Mods to car other than the exhaust

-Advanced timing 12 deg
-Smog pump removal
Old 04-15-2008, 12:04 PM
ArmchairDeity
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Strait Pipe Vs. X/H

As I understand it, you'd get more HP from an off-road H or X pipe. That said, I'm not an expert on it... I just know what I've been told. The crossover connection between the two sides of the engine sets up a sympathetic shock wave in the exhaust so that each time an exhaust valve opens the exhaust already leaving the pipes helps actually pull the spent air/fuel out of the cylinder. This doesn't happen with straightpipes. On the other hand, this probably only has much effect on very highly tuned engines, like when you're trying to get 290HP out of a 4-cylinder NA Subaru engine.

Still, as I understand it, you'd get more HP out of a catless x or h pipe than you would out of straightpipes. Someone else will have to confirm this for sure.
Old 04-15-2008, 12:24 PM
AdderMk2
Banned

you will get some power from putting mufflers on it too.. straight pipes are NOT helping your car at all
Old 04-15-2008, 12:40 PM
WhiteWindsor
5th Gear Member

Not to mention straight pipes suck for sound. You will sound like every other GMC or Ford truck
Old 04-15-2008, 12:44 PM
ArmchairDeity
1st Gear Member