5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

car wont start

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2008, 07:47 AM
88.B.5.0

Default car wont start

1988 5.0 5spd all stock, I crank the car too turn it on it does as if battery is dead but its a bran new battery then it makes a bunch of clicking noises im a rookie and dont know much any info on what it could be would help thx.
Old 04-28-2008, 10:46 AM
ponyponer
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: car wont start

try the alternator.
Old 04-28-2008, 01:07 PM
FoxGT
5th Gear Member

It's definitely NOT the alternator. Jump a wire from the starter solenoid positive (where the battery cable bolts onto) to the small threaded post on the solenoid (you may have to take the old wire off to get to it) The wire used to jump the two doesn't have to be thick, it can be 20 gauge wire (very small)

If the car starts the wiring problem is inside the car.
If it clicks alot when trying this way you have a bad solenoid or the solenoid isn't grounded well. (the metal plate on the back of the solenoid is the grounding plate)

Let us know what happens when you try that.

btw: Make very well sure the car is in neutral when doing this the car has potential to move if it works.
Old 04-28-2008, 01:15 PM
FivePointOhh
in limbo

ORIGINAL: FoxGT

It's definitely NOT the alternator. Jump a wire from the starter solenoid positive (where the battery cable bolts onto) to the small threaded post on the solenoid (you may have to take the old wire off to get to it) The wire used to jump the two doesn't have to be thick, it can be 20 gauge wire (very small)

If the car starts the wiring problem is inside the car.
If it clicks alot when trying this way you have a bad solenoid or the solenoid isn't grounded well. (the metal plate on the back of the solenoid is the grounding plate)

Let us know what happens when you try that.