5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Newbie here with a question or two

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2008, 12:05 AM
bagellord

Default Newbie here with a question or two

First off, I am new here and sort of new to Mustangs. I am on sort of a long term borrowing of grandpa's old 93 mustang convertable LX with auto tranny, and have a question. What is the best oil for that monster of an engine? The car has been living at the beach for several years and the salt air has done a number on it. It needs some body work and new front seats. What would be the best way to get those? I have quite a few friends who know more than I do who can help, but you can never have too much advice on this sort of thing. Anyways, in summary, what is the best oil and where should I look for new front seats?

The poor old thing. Not in great shape. It desparately needs an oil change. I looked at it, and it was old and dirty and brown (yes I know what new oil looks like, but this was the dirty omfg why brown). Overall, the powertrain is in pretty good shape with 144k on it. Still performs well after it heats up. But nowhere near what it was new. My Titan could probably beat it at the moment.

PS- this car is not owned by me. My grandfather owns it, but since we gave him the extra car we had, I had to drive something back from the beach, and I was not driving the van. We might buy it and have it restored to stock condition.

PSS- it is light blue (factory paint job) with a white top (practically brand new)
Old 05-11-2008, 12:19 AM
w8less
6th Gear Member

Default RE: Newbie here with a question or two

really any synthetic. i would do a complete tune up though.

new seats. check around to find some new ones. the seats out of a new edge mustang will fit in it also
Old 05-11-2008, 12:20 AM
mjr46
D.R. THE PATHETIC DORK

ORIGINAL: bagellord