5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Newbie Help.. Thanks!

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2008, 02:46 PM
NeXuS21

Default Newbie Help.. Thanks!

Hey Everyone Just a Formal Hello to Everyone... Die Hard GM guy, But always secretly wanted a Fox Body.. Anyways i bought an 87 GT hatch Its ok.. has idle issues and for some reason if the lights are on for over 10 mins they flicker on off on off just the head lights tho not the running lights even if the car isnt moving so im stumped?!?! Wiring issue i guess.And Also most of the time its really hard to get into 2nd without grinding.. grandma shift and it goes ok but try to hammer and it sounds bad i was thinking either Synchro or fork?!? im new to the T-5. Anyways i was just wondering if anyone had some shots of a Stock or close to stock Engine Bay this guy kinda hacked **** so im trying to find out where everything is susposed to go?.. Also any sites for good writeups and such.. Im going to get a Haynes book in a few days.. Thanks For your help and Its good to be here! some of the other Mustang forums were pretty lame and more geared towards newer Stangs!
Old 07-10-2008, 03:05 PM
SPE926
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: Newbie Help.. Thanks!

Tranny problem could be as simple as a stretched out clutch cable, Mine would do the same thing. Lights could be wiring but may also be your head light switch. I would check for vacuum leaks to start on bad idle as well as do a complete tune up as in plugs, wires, pcv, fuel filter, cap, rotor, and check your tps.
Old 07-10-2008, 03:07 PM
NeXuS21