5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Need help tuning, car is sputtering...

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2009, 09:10 PM
AntiRiceRacing
2nd Gear Member

Default Need help tuning, car is sputtering...

Well im going to buy some new oil tomarrow, along with some zmax and a new fuel filter. But when i get on my car it sputters then goes... never had to tune one of my cars before so im new to this. I also think its running a bit rich because of some gassy smoke coming out the exhaust, but i didnt see any of the smoke today, just last night when i picked it up. The motor is pretty built and the car use to run nitrous.. Any ideas of how i can make the sputtering go away so when i floor it, all it does is GO!?
Old 04-11-2009, 09:37 PM
mjr46
D.R. THE PATHETIC DORK

don't waste your money on that infomercial zmax crap, is your car efi or carb???
Old 04-11-2009, 09:42 PM
AntiRiceRacing
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by mjr46
don't waste your money on that infomercial zmax crap, is your car efi or carb???

zmax is not infomercial crap? Carb.
Old 04-11-2009, 09:57 PM
mjr46
D.R. THE PATHETIC DORK

Originally Posted by 86_5oh
zmax is not infomercial crap? Carb.
bullshyt..nuff said............anyway explain the hesitation, will the engine stumble if you rev it in nuetral or does it need to have a load on it??
Old 04-11-2009, 09:59 PM
AntiRiceRacing
2nd Gear Member

bullshyt..nuff said............anyway explain the hesitation, will the engine stumble if you rev it in nuetral or does it need to have a load on it??

Not sure, i dont really rev the **** out of it in neutral, but im pretty sure its only under load, if i slowly push my foot to the floor while driving its okay, the faster i do it the more it sputters...
Old 04-11-2009, 10:05 PM
mjr46
D.R. THE PATHETIC DORK