5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

All the camshaft info you need to know...

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2009, 12:15 AM
OCHOHILL
2nd Gear Member

Default All the camshaft info you need to know...

Now that I have your attention:

I have been researching for several months now and can't find a good sticky on camshaft selection. Camshaft selection isn't exactly voodoo but it does require some extensive engine knowledge and understanding. Things like dynamic compression ratio, duration and lift and how it effects other engine compenents and performance.

Many guys, like myself, are trying to build a motor around compenents they already posses. Others are trying to build in stages. I think it would be great if a knowledgeable guy could share his/her knowledge.

Things that I have learned that may surprise you. If I am wrong please correct me.

Static compression ratio means boo. Dynamic compression ratio is where it's at. Aluminum heads can run higher compression only with the proper quench. (Quench is the piston pushing air against the flat part of the head which blasts it into the chamber creating a combustion chamber with minimal hot spots- quench kinda acts like a fan)

8.5/1 dynamic on pump gas can only be achieved if the engine is properly quenched and timed. Otherwise, detonation will kill it.

Cams affect the dynamic ratio depending on when the valves open and close in relationship to the piston location (piston location is determined by valve events and crank shaft location with the math for the rod length and angle)

Think about this for a moment. Longer duration cams stay open longer. They may open sooner or later. If the valve is open when the piston is anywhere but at BDC then you are not compressing the same amount of air as a static compression test.

I don't fully understand all this stuff yet. I may never.