5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

HELP PLEASE!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2012, 08:31 AM
GTGeno

Default HELP PLEASE!!

My story:
My name is Gene Franklin. I am married and the proud father of two young boys. Like a lot of people, times are really tough on my family and I. I am a shift manager at Jack in the Box which offers no incentives other than an hourly wage that I have to fight to get hours for. It's kind of needless to say money is hard to come by. I own a 1987 Mustang GT with 109K miles which is the only car we have for the time being. It's a fuel injected, automatic, 302 engine. The only mod I have made to the car was putting on a K&N intake.

My issue:
I leave for work early in the mornings while it is still cold outside. I turn the key and my car fires up instantly, but will die just as instantly if I don't keep my foot on the gas pedal and maintain around 1500 RPMs. I shift into reverse to back out of my stall and the car stumbles as if it's not receiving any fuel or getting too much fuel. I shift to drive and press the accelerator. Once again the car stumbles. After the car starts moving everything runs fine and I couldn't be happier. When I try to start the car while it is warmed up, I have to hold the key as the engines cranks and cranks. The car will not fire unless I hold the gas pedal all the way down which is strange for fuel injection. Also, whenever I am stopped at a stop light or stop sign I have to keep one foot on the break pedal and one foot on the gas pedal to keep the RPMs up so the car doesn't die. I am getting terrible fuel economy in the car as well. It is rated at about 18 city mpg and I am getting around 9-10 mpg. I also feel like there is a big power loss to what I should be getting.

What I've Done: