5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Weird problems.

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2012, 10:53 PM
73dart

Default Weird problems.

Well to start off, I am new to mustangs. But definitely not new to cars.

I have a 1979 mustang that I just got. 5.0L automatic. It was actually a barn find and had been sitting since at least 2000 and probably even before that.

So it all started I dropped the tank to clean it. Well I needed a new in tank fuel filter but had a hard time finding one. So i left it out, but added 2 other in line fuel filters. Plut there is a filter built into the outside of the carb. So total of 3 filters.
It ran pretty good but you could tell it was lacking power and wasnt running to its full potential.

So I went ahead and switched the plugs, wires, distributor cap, and rotor. I honestly have no clue how the car was running before I switched them, because the plugs were in really bad shape. 2 of the 8 couldnt even have been firing as much black crud was on them. It looked like bubble gum wrapped around the plugs are how bad they were. And one wire was melted almost clear in two.

So this is when my problems starts, After I switched all that out.
It will run great. But whenever you put it in gear and take off, it will backfire thru the carb (pop, pop, pop) over and over. If you rev the motor in park or nuetral it will only do it once every couple of minutes. Sometimes it will pour black smoke out of the exhaust.

I have thought about a lot of different things, but unsure what it is.
1) could it be running rich where i left the in tank fuel filter off?
2) could it be something like a lifter, push rod, cam lobe or something else broke and not letting valve open causing to backfire?
3) could it be the smog pump and that whole set up?
4) vacuum leak somewhere?
5) something else i havent thought of.