5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

5.0 idle surge need some ideas!

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2012, 04:24 PM
codyshowalter

Default 5.0 idle surge need some ideas!

Hey, this is my first time posting a forum on here just trying to gather some ideas from people. i have a 1993 5.0 daily driver and ive been having some problems with it surging when i start it up.

e303,24#inj,ported upper/lower cobra intake,75mm MAF/TB,full basani exhaust,

i have the timing at 12, cleaned MAF/TB,ran cleaner through it, new iac, new thermostat. these are things ive done so far to try to help but none have worked.

The surging gets bad after it warms up a bit, doesn't do it when you first start it. so if anyone has any ideas help would be greatly appreciated
Old 10-22-2012, 05:12 PM
mattdel
6th Gear Member

IAC, vacuum leak, or ECT.
Old 10-22-2012, 05:12 PM
90nSSMD
1st Gear Member

I have a similar issue, but it only surges until operating temp. I have a 1990 daily driver as well with a few bolt-ons. I never found a way to stop it from surging on start-up, but it would still mildly surge until I set the TPS Voltage and Idle.

Have you tried pulling the IAC when the car is at normal operating temp and manually setting the idle/tps voltage?

If you don't know how to do it, I can guide you through the process, or a quick forum/google search can find you a thread on it.

Hope this helps, and I'm sure someone with more tech experience will be able to offer other advice on what it may be if this isn't the direct issue.

Edit -- Beaten by Mattdel. Well played sir.. well played
Old 10-22-2012, 05:34 PM
codyshowalter

dont think its a vacuum leak i redid all of the lines when i bought the car.