5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

87-93 Mustang 5.0's

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2005, 06:05 AM
civicowner

Default 87-93 Mustang 5.0's

Hey,

First of all I dont own a Mustang ( I drive a civic), but have always liked this generation of Mustangs and have always wanted to own one. The two things that attract me about them is 1) The body style 2) theyre fast 3) theyre cheap. Im considering buying one and wanted to ask a few questions.

Ok, the first thing I want to own is how hard is it to find one thats in good condition? By condition I mean body, interior and most important the engine. Im not a mechanic, and dont really know any ( my moms bf works on school buses for a living but I dont think hed want to be constantly working on my car) so reliability is VERY important to me. This is why I currently drive a civic. Oh ya, and I live in southern california, Orange County to be exact.

If you can find one in decent shape, how much do they usually cost? a few grand? I understand they werent that popular and gas is way too expensive these days so im guessing theyd be pretty cheap by now.

Another thing I wanted to ask about is the manual transmissions. How good are these in this perticular generation of Mustangs? Were they better built than say the automatic transmissions? and is the speed difference between auto and manual transmissions like jap cars? Which one is faster.

Thanks for any help.
Old 10-10-2005, 07:37 AM
hatingyou
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: 87-93 Mustang 5.0's