5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

1990 preigntion missing problem

Old 08-23-2014, 01:22 AM
Quarterhorse636

Default 1990 preigntion missing problem

Hi Everyone im new to this whole forum deal so bear with me. Im more than capable of fixing the problem but I need to know what the problem is before I can do that. Hopefully you guys can help me out. I bought a almost crisp almost stock 1990 mustang gt with a 306 , aftermarket 19lb injecters, aftermarket e303 cam, ac shorty headers, offroad hpiped< 1.6 roller rockers, cai, underdrive pulleys and supposedly ported e7 heads ( took the headers of and found casting marks. I haven't seen the intake side). My problem is when I get up to go to work at the last second ill go out and start my car itll start rev up then die. Ill start it back up itll run a little longer than die. Try it a again then itll run on its own but it will surge slightly till it gets a little warm. When I take off and put a load on the engine it will kind of bog down and most of the time backfire through the intake once or twice, but that will go away once it gets completely warm. its my understanding that backfiring through the intake is called pre-ignition or pinging. I can get around this pre-ignition problem by revving the engine high enough while taking off so that it wont do that. like I said it will go away once it gets warm and it will drive just fine until I get caught at a stoplight and sit for roughly 3 minutes and go to take off it doesn't really bog down but it seems like its missing very noticeably. Heres what I don't get.. when its starts missing and I turn the car off and start it again while rolling it will fix itself until I get caught at the next stoplight then it may or may not happen again. this is a daily problem