5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

Somebody give me a history lesson plz

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2009, 02:09 PM
Eric261
2nd Gear Member

Default Somebody give me a history lesson plz

Alright so Im selling my S197 Gt for personal reasons and Im looking around at these foxbodys for one of my next cars. The 88-93 5.0 seem to come in a few different body styles and from my understanding they had changes in them throughout those years engine wise.

Now I've been all about my s197 for the past couple years so Im a noob when it comes to the fox so if someone could explain to me the differences in mustangs between 88-93 Id appreciate it im just trying to learn so I know what Im looking for when buying of what is better than what etc. Cheers: Eric
Old 01-20-2009, 02:21 PM
Alex-7
2nd Gear Member

1988 is speed density (except in california) Not mas air. Speed density is harder to tune.

Uhhh, I think fox's got air bags in 1990 and lost the tilt wheel at the same time.

I believe 1993's don't have forged internals like the earlier ones....

Just buy the cleanest most stock one you can find.
Old 01-20-2009, 02:40 PM
FivePointOhh
in limbo

+1^^

nicely worded. if you want to modify it i'd try and look for an 89 coupe. lightest best looking fox IMO. tilt wheels. no airbars, forged internals, mass air. pretty sweet platform to build off.

try to find a clean body, you can always fix the mechanical stuff a lot cheaper and better than bodywork unless your hobby/job is bodywork.
Old 01-20-2009, 03:01 PM
Chuckles_5.0
2nd Gear Member

correct. 93 does not have the forged internals like the rest of the foxes. They have hypereutectic. I don't know a heck of alot about the pitons other than the fact that I've heard they are fine to use as long as you're not talking about monster numbers. But thats just hear say.