5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

'97 5.0 into '93 efi 2.3

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2011, 08:44 AM
Mr93MoStang
1st Gear Member

Default '97 5.0 into '93 efi 2.3

I'm new to the whole 5.0 thing guys. I was gonna go with the 2.3 Turbo set-up but I've decided to go V8 because what I've heard and seen with my '66 Satellite is the V8's bang for the buck is a lot better haha. I got a junk yard 5.0 out of a '97 Exploder... Explorer that is 130k Auto. I'm pulling the motor and entire wiring harness. But it has coil packs :/ I'm not too sure about the newer 5.0's. I have a chance to wire up the car on the same coil pack system, but i don't know if i should. Is there any advantage? Or should i convert it back to a distributor? I'm not putting a whole lot of money into the motor right now. Porting, thats about the extent of it. The rest of my money has to go into the suspension, brakes, tranny, and rear end.

Anyways, my question here is, is it a smart idea to go through with this motor? I'm only dropping $100 for it with the harness. It runs, i heard it run yesterday. Am i getting into a bunch of bad decisions by trying to put this particular motor into my '93? And I'm 100% keeping it injected. It's still gonna be my DD.

Any and all responses are appreciated. Thanks guys.
Old 11-18-2011, 09:04 AM
projectresto83
M.A.D. Motorsports

First read this.....
https://mustangforums.com/forum/5-0l...bers-read.html

Before you purchase the motor remove the wiring, coil pack, the front accessories, water pump, headers, and the big chunk of aluminum that makes the 90* bend toward the front. Keep the throttle body! The oil pan will have to be changed but leave it for the time being to keep the bottom end sealed up.