5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

Preparation is key. 5.0 Rebuild

Old 11-17-2011, 06:55 PM
Dipstick

Default Preparation is key. 5.0 Rebuild

Hey Everyone,

So my wife and I just moved into a new house with a two-car garage . . . nay, Man Cave. I'm about to have a bit of time off from work and finally have the time and location to start giving my tired mustang some much needed TLC.

Next week I'm going to start to pull the engine to do just a stock overhaul. This is my first time doing this, so I want to make sure I have everything I need.

What kind of special tools should i have on hand? Already on the list: Torque Wrench, Piston Ring Pliers, piston ring compressor, feeler guage, plastiguage, engine hoist, engine stand . . . anything else?

And what are some "best practice" tips that might not show up in a book or a video?

Thanks for all the help!
Old 11-17-2011, 07:04 PM
mattdel
6th Gear Member

The very first thing you need to do: buy a box of 100 sandwich bags, and a sharpie.
Keeping track of your bolts and knowing where they go will save you hours and hours of time at the end of this project. Don't underestimate the power of forgetfulness.

Everything else, you pretty much got handled. If you're planning on keeping your current(old) valvetrain, you might want to invest in one of those holders they make for pushrod/rocker arm combo's. They need to go back in the same spot they came from.

I recommend an air compressor, for obvious reasons, but also a 90 degree cut-off tool with a cookie wheel (for cleaning old gaskets). A straight razor works, but you can't beat a cookie wheel in terms of speed.
Old 11-17-2011, 07:18 PM
Dipstick

Thanks for the tips with the sandwich bags. I guess alot of pictures should help a bit too. Also forgot to mention I bought a metal stamping kit for this project too (can't be too careful).