New Tach mounted! - MustangForums.com


5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2012, 06:17 PM   #1
DaBears1983
1st Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
DaBears1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 57
Default New Tach mounted!

Man it feels good to get something accomplished without having to use a whole roll of electrical tape!
[IMG][/IMG]
DaBears1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 11:32 PM   #2
tinman
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,103
Default

You should learn to solder/shrink tube things like that.......
tinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 03:32 AM   #3
Tony71502
5th Gear Member
 
Tony71502's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2,459
Default

What did you mount it with? screws?

Your cluster looks like it has a stock tach.... tell me how much of a difference there is.
Tony71502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 09:35 AM   #4
DaBears1983
1st Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
DaBears1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 57
Default

I used heat shrink tubing...sry does sound like i used tape...i mounted the small bracket with 1/4-20 bolts and washers...i havent taken her out yet but i did have her running in the garage when i was done to see if the tach worked and there was a slight diff but the thing i noticed was the autometer responds alot faster than the stock tach...hmm should try to post a vid on youtube or something
DaBears1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:28 AM   #5
Tony71502
5th Gear Member
 
Tony71502's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2,459
Default

I'm only asking because when I was on the Dyno my stock cluster tach was spot on.
Tony71502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 01:13 PM   #6
DaBears1983
1st Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
DaBears1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 57
Default

Hmmm you'd figure with the money you spend on autometer they'd be on the money
DaBears1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 02:55 PM   #7
Apstang50
 
Apstang50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: MA
Posts: 28
Default

The previous owner of my notch put a tach in that same spot, it ended up breaking that side of the cluster trim. It's a few 100 rpms diff from the factory one also, the shift light doesn't even work!
Apstang50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 04:00 PM   #8
Js88lx
3rd Gear Member
 
Js88lx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: mid Cali
Posts: 837
Default

same here.., on a good bump that thing is ganna break off! i would mount it behind where the top dash is!
Js88lx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 04:29 PM   #9
eb2gt
2nd Gear Member
 
eb2gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 331
Default

I had to remove the one previous owner installed, kept running the battery down.
eb2gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 07:17 PM   #10
projectresto83
M.A.D. Motorsports
 
projectresto83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 7,999
Default

I have mine on the side of the cluster bezel and have never had an issue with it. No, its not the strongest point but a small metal plate on the back will help some. My stock tach is a few hundred behind the autometer I have....
projectresto83 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S197 Parts baddog671 Parts For Sale 20 07-26-2016 02:20 PM
Snow performance stage 2 MAF boos cooler install jwog666 Pipes, Boost & Juice 5 04-04-2016 05:23 PM
Chassis wiggle when off throttle? UrS4 S197 Handling Section 10 10-03-2015 07:23 AM
Street Action Tonight Explosive Street/Strip 17 10-02-2015 08:45 AM
Rough idle and vibrating 4cylinderplus2 V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs 9 09-30-2015 06:26 PM


Tags
1987, center, dash, ford, forum, fox, insert, mount, mounted, mounting, mustang, mustangs, plate, special, tach, tachometer

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 AM.