Go Back   MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > 5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang > 5.0L General Discussion
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

Welcome to Mustang Forums!
Welcome to Mustang Forums.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2012, 06:17 PM   #1
DaBears1983
 
DaBears1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Vehicle: 1987 GT Conv
Location: Illinois
Posts: 45
Default New Tach mounted!

Man it feels good to get something accomplished without having to use a whole roll of electrical tape!
[IMG][/IMG]
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Mustang Forums!
DaBears1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 11:32 PM   #2
tinman
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Vehicle: 84 Mustang, 59 Ranchero
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,072
Default

You should learn to solder/shrink tube things like that.......
__________________
GOOD,FAST, CHEAP-----------YOU CAN ONLY GET 2 OUT OF 3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
tinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 03:32 AM   #3
Tony71502
5th Gear Member
 
Tony71502's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 1991 Ford Mustang
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2,459
Default

What did you mount it with? screws?

Your cluster looks like it has a stock tach.... tell me how much of a difference there is.
__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing".
Tony71502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 09:35 AM   #4
DaBears1983
 
DaBears1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Vehicle: 1987 GT Conv
Location: Illinois
Posts: 45
Default

I used heat shrink tubing...sry does sound like i used tape...i mounted the small bracket with 1/4-20 bolts and washers...i havent taken her out yet but i did have her running in the garage when i was done to see if the tach worked and there was a slight diff but the thing i noticed was the autometer responds alot faster than the stock tach...hmm should try to post a vid on youtube or something
DaBears1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:28 AM   #5
Tony71502
5th Gear Member
 
Tony71502's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 1991 Ford Mustang
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2,459
Default

I'm only asking because when I was on the Dyno my stock cluster tach was spot on.
__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing".
Tony71502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 01:13 PM   #6
DaBears1983
 
DaBears1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Vehicle: 1987 GT Conv
Location: Illinois
Posts: 45
Default

Hmmm you'd figure with the money you spend on autometer they'd be on the money
DaBears1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 02:55 PM   #7
Apstang50
 
Apstang50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Vehicle: 1990, Mustang, LX notchback
Location: MA
Posts: 28
Default

The previous owner of my notch put a tach in that same spot, it ended up breaking that side of the cluster trim. It's a few 100 rpms diff from the factory one also, the shift light doesn't even work!
__________________
Apstang50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 04:00 PM   #8
Js88lx
3rd Gear Member
 
Js88lx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Vehicle: 94 Cobra
Location: mid Cali
Posts: 832
Default

same here.., on a good bump that thing is ganna break off! i would mount it behind where the top dash is!
__________________
94 Cobra Virgin Ms Virgin
89 gt (coca) SOLD
86 5.0 vert (work in progress)
Js88lx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 04:29 PM   #9
eb2gt
2nd Gear Member
 
eb2gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Vehicle: 1987 Mustang GT
Location: Ohio
Posts: 288
Default

I had to remove the one previous owner installed, kept running the battery down.
eb2gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 07:17 PM   #10
projectresto83
M.A.D. Motorsports
 
projectresto83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Vehicle: 83 GLX, 93 LX, 98 sixer
Location: Indiana
Posts: 7,998
Default

I have mine on the side of the cluster bezel and have never had an issue with it. No, its not the strongest point but a small metal plate on the back will help some. My stock tach is a few hundred behind the autometer I have....
projectresto83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 07:17 PM
MustangForums
Ford Mustang




Paid Advertisement

 
 
 
Reply

Tags
1987, center, dash, ford, forum, fox, insert, mount, mounted, mounting, mustang, mustangs, plate, special, tach, tachometer

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company
Emails Backup