5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

Recommended Cold Air Intake

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2016, 05:52 PM
Mustang_Newbie

Default Recommended Cold Air Intake

Looking to get a 1990 mustang, but I am looking to get a cold-air intake and I didn't know what a good starting place would be. I'm relatively new to the mustang scene. Any help is greatly appreciated!
Old 02-01-2016, 06:09 PM
64bit
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by Mustang_Newbie
Looking to get a 1990 mustang, but I am looking to get a cold-air intake and I didn't know what a good starting place would be. I'm relatively new to the mustang scene. Any help is greatly appreciated!
Keep your stock intake. Worry about maintenance on your 26 year old vehicle. A cold air intake isn't going to gain you any power.
Old 02-01-2016, 08:51 PM
Mustang_Newbie

Thanks!
Old 02-02-2016, 05:05 PM
Boss_Hotrod
5th Gear Member

Best thing to do is get a drop in k&n filter and take the silencer off front inside the fender. CAI's on these cars is more for looks than anything.
Old 02-03-2016, 09:52 AM
UltraBlue91'
1st Gear Member

TBH, I would get it even though your car is stock. My car is also pretty much stock and I've swapped out the factory air box with a BBK fender-well intake and notice a difference in throttle response and very minimal power gain. The BBK one is a little expensive but it's one of the best and you can hear it working as you're accelerating. It's also a reusable filter so no worries about getting a replacement over time. If you're looking for a nice boost get 3.55 or 3.73 gears in the rear. The difference in acceleration is night and day. No power gain from that just so you know but the shorter gears make the car accelerate much quicker than the stock 2.73 gears.
Old 02-03-2016, 08:29 PM
Foureyed