Notices
5.0L GT S550 Tech This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the GT variation of the 2015+ Ford Mustang.

Break in period

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2015, 07:15 PM
Arless

Thumbs up 2015 GT mustang break in period

Originally Posted by Choppertwo
C-mon Camster, I'm an old guy too, but 3rd gear at 20mph, my God,but anyway back to the OP, I'm with Will
I'm 61 years old and my new 2015 GT has 263 miles on it and I drive the hell out of it/ These new engines are broke in from the factory and most come with synthetic motor oil from the factory.

Todays tight tolerances in the engines need no break in period. The tires need 300 miles to break in though, That is the only thing Ford say's need's to be broken in. 20 mph in third gear you are luging your engine at that low rpm and speed. That is not good for any new or old engine. I was a Ford mechanic for over 40 years then retired.
Old 07-04-2015, 10:06 PM
JohnnyB15GT
1st Gear Member

I'm with you, Arless. My understanding is that the only thing needing break-in is the gearing.
Old 07-05-2015, 08:22 AM
Norm Peterson
6th Gear Member

"Tight tolerances" only mean that the break-in period can be shortened. You're still generating more heat, and it's going to be more likely to concentrate locally in the castings. Interchangeable parts means that they are interchangeable from an assembly standpoint only. There is no way that all engines with every internal component grabbed at no better than semi-random will assemble precisely the same way even from a dimensional point of view.

Sure, engine assembly these days is a better bet than roulette or the craps table, but it's certainly not an absolute guarantee. What's anybody's risk tolerance here ???

Norm
Old 07-05-2015, 03:29 PM
squishbang
2nd Gear Member

I subscribe to the drive it like you stole it school. I bought my car last Friday. Saturday we were doing some hot laps at ECR. Full runs all the way through the rev range.