Notices
5.0L GT S550 Tech This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the GT variation of the 2015+ Ford Mustang.

On the right track?

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2017, 12:46 PM
Jekyl

Default On the right track?

Hey guys, novice here doing my research and I have a few questions. At the end of the day I'm looking to turbo my GT. But that's in the future not right now, but I do want to make sure that I'm starting off on the right foot with buying the right parts. As of now I have a catback exhaust only. My next project is to get long tube 1 3/4in offroad headers, possibly the 350 intake manifold (yes or no? Necessary? Thoughts?) and a lund intake manifold tune integrated with ghost cam. I've read a few threads about the aftermarket CAI and most seem to be in favor of the stock CAI. Am I going in the right direction as far as the intake and exhaust setup for a turbo in the future?

Thanks!
Old 01-24-2017, 02:44 PM
proeagles
4th Gear Member

You didn't say what year your car is. If you are going turbo, don't mess with any other intakes as the kits will be designed for the stock setup. Why turbo and not a supercharger with a warranty? Superchargers make power from idle and the so called parasitic drag is not that much of deal at 650+hp.
Old 01-24-2017, 06:42 PM
Jekyl

2016. turbo..just preference. I've always been a fan of the turbos. And most mustangs I've seen have superchargers..and for a good reason I'm sure, but I like being different (as long as its not detrimental to the car.)

Good to know about the stock CAI with the turbo setup.

As far as my shopping list, does anything standout as unnecessary or a wrong part?

recommend the gt350 intake manifold?
Old 01-25-2017, 08:25 AM
proeagles
4th Gear Member