Notices
5.0L GT S550 Tech This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the GT variation of the 2015+ Ford Mustang.

2017 Snow Tire Question

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2017, 07:27 AM
Aaron Marga

Default 2017 Snow Tire Question

I know it's late in the season to talk snow tires, but they say the best time to buy them is in April. However, I have my old Challenger snows lying around which were 235/55-18's. My 2017 Mustang GT comes stock with 235/50-18's. I'll confess, I'm a bit of a newb on this, but my much more mechanically inclined buddy tells me they'll fit (make sense to me dimensionally) and just throw the speedometer off ~3% (2MPH @ 60) (also makes complete sense).

I more or less want to verify he's not wrong or if anyone else spins around in a GT in the winter. I will say, you're unlikely to convince me to get a beater as the money people want for their hunk of junk is ridiculous here.

I appreciate the help!
Old 03-22-2017, 09:05 AM
Aaron Marga

I will note - I have seen people use 235/55/18's in other threads, albeit, not the latest iteration of the Mustang. I've also heard difficulties getting a shop to perform this, is there any truth to that?

Also - I realize other threads have documented the snow driving in GTs, so I apologize for potentially doubling up on the threads. I know that's a fairly lazy no-no in car forum communities and I'll do better next time - ha!
Old 03-22-2017, 10:13 AM
movielover40
4th Gear Member

Personally I drive my Mustang year round in Michigan with all season Michelins on it.

I've never used winters.
Old 03-22-2017, 10:25 AM
Aaron Marga

I know Michigan gets a decent bit of snow too, Western NY (my families home area) gets a bit more I would think. I might consider it, if I didn't just have these laying around anyways with no resale value really at all on snow tires (in general).
Old 02-14-2018, 02:21 PM
GT Nate
2nd Gear Member

Bring back this dead thread...