Tuner Swap, and Long Distance on a New Mustang - MustangForums.com


5.0L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about the 'Coyote' engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-14-2012, 08:13 AM   #1
GhostStrykre
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 186
Default Tuner Swap, and Long Distance on a New Mustang

Hey everyone, I'm trading in my 2012 V6 Mustang for a 2012 5.0L V8 Mustang. I'm pretty stoked to do this, especially because I feel like I'm getting an incredible price.

My big questions are these though:

1) I always heard that driving a long distance at a constant speed (highway driving) is a bad idea in a new vehicle. Is this still true, even with current engine making technology? I'm driving the vehicle 8 hours from the dealer to home. Do I need to vary my speed on the highway to keep things together properly?

2) I have a tuner that I use on my V6. To unmarry this thing, all I need to do is plug it in to the V6 and revert it to stock and it's unmarried correct? Also, once it's reverted to stock, there's no way to tell the V6 was ever tuned right?

Thanks in advance!
GhostStrykre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 10:33 AM   #2
05xrunner
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 1,269
Default

yes just use the return to stock on the tuner and it will unmarry the device from the car and can use on your new car. I am not sure if they can see if its ever been tuned but if there is nothing wrong with the car and your trading it in anyway what would it matter to you?
05xrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 11:04 AM   #3
sofaking5.0
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 57
Default Bad news

They can tell if its been flashed if they look at the ECM. It keeps account of the number of times its been flashed and that can not be tampered with.
sofaking5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 02:13 PM   #4
GhostStrykre
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 186
Default

yeah.. there's no problem with the car at all... car's actually fantastic. i always think it gets better every day i drive it (i'm still under 10k miles), and i think that's just the car continually breaking in. regardless, i was curious to know. i mean, i feel like im obligated to tell the dealer that the powertrain warranty is voided since it's been tuned. i'm sure that affects the price of the trade-in value. i'll cross that bridge when i come to it though.

i'm still researching whether or not its okay to drive long highway distances on a brand new vehicle though.
GhostStrykre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 02:35 PM   #5
BigDinTexas
4th Gear Member
 
BigDinTexas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Temple, TX
Posts: 1,276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostStrykre View Post
yeah.. there's no problem with the car at all... car's actually fantastic. i always think it gets better every day i drive it (i'm still under 10k miles), and i think that's just the car continually breaking in. regardless, i was curious to know. i mean, i feel like im obligated to tell the dealer that the powertrain warranty is voided since it's been tuned. i'm sure that affects the price of the trade-in value. i'll cross that bridge when i come to it though.

i'm still researching whether or not its okay to drive long highway distances on a brand new vehicle though.
You are under no obligation to tell them that, especially since you are not the one to void the warranty, FoMoCo is. Since they have not done so, it is not voided, plain and simple. If the dealer, as part of the trade in inspection, determines that and decides to back out of the deal, that is on them. But regardless, I would not divulge what may not be true in the first place (that the warranty is void).

Regardless, good luck and post up pics.

Don
BigDinTexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 06:06 PM   #6
SirJAG
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sofaking5.0 View Post
They can tell if its been flashed if they look at the ECM. It keeps account of the number of times its been flashed and that can not be tampered with.
this is simply not the case. will discuss in pm if you care too. flash will throw a p1000 code, but there is no "counter" the next one in just replaces the last one.

Last edited by SirJAG; 05-14-2012 at 06:14 PM. Reason: *dont want to stir pot...
SirJAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 07:56 PM   #7
GhostStrykre
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirJAG View Post
this is simply not the case. will discuss in pm if you care too. flash will throw a p1000 code, but there is no "counter" the next one in just replaces the last one.
Yeah, I'd love a technical explanation via a PM. I had always been told to flash to stock, then disconnect the battery for 30 min and then reconnect and drive. But, I'm no expert so I wouldn't be surprised if I'm wrong.
GhostStrykre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 06:33 PM   #8
scottmach
3rd Gear Member
 
scottmach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 557
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostStrykre View Post

i'm still researching whether or not its okay to drive long highway distances on a brand new vehicle though.
Well why the hell wouldn't it be okay?
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirJAG View Post
this is simply not the case. will discuss in pm if you care too. flash will throw a p1000 code, but there is no "counter" the next one in just replaces the last one.
Actually he is correct.
scottmach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 07:07 PM   #9
Slowbra302
2nd Gear Member
 
Slowbra302's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Posts: 390
Default

I have read from numerous resources (from the interwebs so probably not accurate) that you shouldn't drive too long of distances. Something about taking frequent breaks and varying RPMs and seating rings and what not. Could you shed some more light on this please?
Slowbra302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 10:13 PM   #10
clowe1965
6th Gear Member
 
clowe1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: South Carolina, Axle swap anyone?
Posts: 5,274
Default

To the ECM flashing, there is an engine start/stop counter that gets reset as one method to determine if it has been reflashed. Ford, not the dealer, can determine if the ECM has been flashed.

So far the research for breaking in the 5.0 engines shows to run them hard during the break in period for better results. I think AM has this documented (10-20 hp difference between a DD car and a "test" car after breaking in) Driving it long distance first off isn't going to hurt it (1-1000 miles). I doubt your speed will stay constant in any area other than Montana anyway. I also doubt you will go the speed limit on your maiden voyage either so it will take care of itself.
clowe1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cam swap on 68 289 ding56 Classic Mustangs (Tech) 3 08-14-2015 03:40 AM
5.4 swap PearlGenPu V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs 6 08-12-2015 02:57 PM
Just swapped motor exhaust want fit daytooday Motor Swap Section 2 08-11-2015 10:22 AM
CAI and tuner or just tuner? Darrens07GT GT S197 General Discussion 3 08-10-2015 04:59 PM
Front license plate mount? tmdm General Tech 5 08-07-2015 11:24 PM


Tags
2011, 2012, 2013, horsepower, mustang, public, tuner, tuners

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.