Notices
5.0L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about the 'Coyote' engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

New to Forum & Mustang World

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2012, 06:31 PM
clowe1965
6th Gear Member

Originally Posted by slyter485
As I'm new to the 5.0 platform as well, can you elaborate? I can understand the benefits of an oil separator, or oil catch can on FI cars, but on an NA car? Do these motors draw quite a bit of oil through the PCV system?
Yes, these cars have blow by pretty bad, most cars have some, putting FI on a car just makes it worse and more noticeable.
Old 07-15-2012, 07:44 AM
99gtstang
5th Gear Member

Originally Posted by kingGingy5.0
I would keep saving and start out with the supercharger...you can run 7 PSI safely and keep it as a DD and see more gains then the current bolt ons. I have most of the bolt-ons you listed and if I could do it over I would of just saved and went with the supercharger. I would also suggest getting an oil seperator asap
Off topic, but king gray: Which springs did you use on your car in sig and did you powder coat the brembo wheels?
Old 07-15-2012, 09:37 AM
slyter485
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by clowe1965
Yes, these cars have blow by pretty bad, most cars have some, putting FI on a car just makes it worse and more noticeable.
Interesting, I've noticed bad blow by on my turbo'd Speed6, didn't think about it for this motor. Guess an oil separator may be a good investment!
Old 07-15-2012, 06:18 PM
Senderofan