Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Car Sputtering/Stalling When Warm

Old 07-23-2009, 09:30 PM
Mesomorphman

Default Car Sputtering/Stalling When Warm

Okay... I just got a 1969 Mustang Coupe with a 351 Cleveland in it (not stock, I know). I am not good with cars. As a matter of fact, I just got the car yesterday, and this is essentially the first car I have worked on. I can do the basics (change oil, etc...) and have a bike that I work on myself, so I am not mechanically challenged, I just have no experience with car engines. That being said...

So here's the deal. This car ran pretty well yesterday. The only problem was, when I would peg the throttle, the car idle speed would increase. It would also surge until I could turn it off and adjust the idle screw on the carb. Then when I cut it back on it would be fine again.

Today... As I was going to Autozone, the car began to sputter and surge, losing and then regaining power (and one backfire) until it just quit. I pulled to the side of the road, sat for a minute, examining the engine like I actually knew what I was looking at, and then started it back up. It ran fine at idle. A little while down the road, though, it did it again. Then, if I left the car running in park for about 20 seconds (all this on the side of the road), it would begin to increase in RPM's until I had to shut it off. Also, smoke began to come out of the tailpipe.

I idled home and began to work on it. I popped off the air filter and looked at the carb as I started the car. But the car ran fine at the house (not driving, just in park). I think the choke (if it is the big flap over the hole) is working correctly. It was open as the ran. I have no idea what is going on, and any help would be appreciated.