Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'05 Mustang will not shift into gear or put in park...HELP!!

Old 12-09-2010, 12:44 AM
myrmzht

Unhappy '05 Mustang will not shift into gear or put in park...HELP!!

Hi,
I am new to this but really need help trying to figure out what is wrong with my car before taking it to a mechanic since I can't even drive it anymore and I do not want them to think I am dumb since I am a girl.

Earlier today, I put my 2005 Mustang in park and it would either go in reverse or move forward so I just put the handbrake up and turned it off. When I went back to turn on my car it wouldn't let me because I had to have it in park. I moved the gear all the way back to the 1 and moved it back to park, this seemed to have solved the issue. I drove home, parked and when I needed to use the car again, I reversed the car put it in drive and when I put it back in reverse to adjust myself, it would just go forward. I managed to get out of the driveway and as soon as I got on the road, I noticed my car would not shift gears. It is an automatic so it should do this by itself. I continued driving to my destination but when I would drive over 25mph it would make a loud humming sound (I know this can't be a good sound). Once I got home, I was only able to turn off the car by using the handbrake and it would not let me put it in reverse. I let it sit for a while and went back to see if maybe it worked but now it won't turn on and what I did earlier won't work either. =(
Old 12-09-2010, 02:23 AM
07 Cervini
2nd Gear Member

Not sure what is going on with the transmission gear selector, but to get the handle to release from park you need to flip open the oval panel near the handle and press the button to get it out of park
Old 12-09-2010, 05:37 AM
wayne613
4th Gear Member