Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

How to: 4.10 install and differential overhaul

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2010, 01:01 AM
cstich08

Post How to: 4.10 install and differential overhaul

First things first, I realize that I am not a professional mechanic, in fact, I'm just some kid who likes to work on his car. I recognize that my install may not be 100% correct and I am willing to take advice from any of the gurus out there on how I should have done something differently. Secondly, I'm no taco-bill. This is my first write up and I did the best I could with taking pictures and getting the work done at the same time. As a result, not all of my pictures are as good as I would like them to be. I will try to make things as clear as possible, but if there is any part that gets confusing, let me know and I will try to edit it and make it clear. I plan on trying to write this for people like me who want to do this install themselves, but have absolutely no working knowledge of a differential. But anyways, on to the job at hand.

Pre Install

1. Like everyone, I vacillated between 4.10 and 3.73. I have a manual. I went with 4.10 and I don't regret it at all even though I drive about 10 miles on the highway everyday to school. That's all I have to say about that whole debate.