4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

HELP! Cracked intake manifold '01 GT

Old 03-20-2011, 12:13 AM
ZeroTX
2nd Gear Member

Default HELP! Cracked intake manifold '01 GT

My manifold cracked on the back, where the coolant line connects to the heater core. It snapped off the brittle plastic connector on the intake manifold itself. This is the second crack on this manifold. The other was up by the sensor, but was fixed with JB Weld. I don't think this one is fixable.

Any good write-ups on the intake manifold swap?

Anyone tried the revised Ford part? Opinions?

Anyone tried the Professional Products all aluminum intake? It's supposed to be a 25hp gain, plus pretty much a guarantee no of no more plastic cracking.

Advice welcome! I'm NEW to Fords. If you live in the Houston area and want to help me with this, please says so

-Michael
Old 03-20-2011, 01:10 AM
ZeroTX
2nd Gear Member

What about the Pro Comp aluminum intake? $350? Too good to be true?
Old 03-20-2011, 02:43 AM
HEAVYMETALMATT
2nd Gear Member

I had the exact same thing happen to my 01 GT a few years ago. Simple fix; Remove the intake, cutoff the cheap plastic hose attachment point, install a properly sized brass hose coupler, JB weld the **** out of it. Then give it a day to dry and reinstall. I dealt with coolant leaks for months until I did this. Never had issue afterward.
Old 03-20-2011, 05:13 AM
ZeroTX
2nd Gear Member

I figured I couldn't be alone on this one! What a mess! I just hope I didn't damage the engine. It literally blew off and the temp gauge never even went up. I only pulled over because of a huge quantity of detonation that started, and the engine died as I pulled into the grass on the median. It still starts/runs (I turn it off after 10 seconds, as it's dry, it ran out most of the coolant), so I can move it ever-so-briefly in the driveway (had it towed home).