Notices
2005-2009 S197 Appearance Section For all appearance mods to the 2005-2009 S197's

Style/Light Bar Installation

Old 04-23-2010, 04:18 PM
majik755
2nd Gear Member

Default Style/Light Bar Installation

After looking through threads, the CDC bar seems to be the most recommended. My question is, how many out there were self installed versus dealer installed? Is it a DIY project. I was OK with online instructions until it referred to drilling out brackets for mounting to avoid interfering with the shoulder belt mechanism and catching the shavings with a magnet so they didn't screw up the top mechanism. I thought, other than drilling a hole for the posts the rest was bolt on, apparently not? Anybody with experience and suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I can handle working with tools, but I'm no master mechanic.
Old 04-29-2010, 03:55 PM
jdphillips73
4th Gear Member

im a violin teacher, and i did the install myself... very rewarding and not hard at all. installing the brackets as you stated was really easy....

i say go for it!
Old 04-30-2010, 06:21 AM
majik755
2nd Gear Member

Thanks for the encouragement JD. As I said when I saw the parts about drilling out things it gave me a scare, everything else seemed straight forward. Was yours the CDC bar with light?
Old 04-30-2010, 08:55 AM
09cs
5th Gear Member

If you don't feel comfortable doing it yourself, then you may want to have the dealer do it. But if you're comfortable doing it yourself go for it!
Old 04-30-2010, 12:12 PM
Misbehavin
2nd Gear Member

It's not that difficult. Just take your time and you'll be fine. Make sure you have good drill bits to use, where you'll be drilling will take forever with a poor bit. I didn't worry with a magnet, I just covered up around the area I would be drilling with a couple of old towels.

I've put light bars in both New Edges and S-197's. The S-197 is a breeze compared to the New Edge.
Old 05-05-2010, 12:36 PM
majik755
2nd Gear Member