Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Removing Heads and other stuff for paint

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2011, 10:28 PM
kevilay
2nd Gear Member

Default Removing Heads and other stuff for paint

Hey guys I have an 08 stang i want to dress up under the hood. Im a complete car noob but am trying to learn. Im not a stupid person, I work in tool and die so Im mechanically experienced just not in cars.

Im looking to paint my heads, fuel rails, and the throttlebody. Maybe some other stuff if you guys have suggestions. Is there any step by step guys to remove these things and reinstall them? Is it a major job? I have my car put away for the winter so I have lots of time to work on it. Also can i use high temp header paint on this stuff or is their something you guys recommend?

Any advice is appreciated!

Thanks,
Kevin
Old 12-12-2011, 08:31 AM
highline
4th Gear Member

no clue, sorry...but subscribed for the info...
Old 12-12-2011, 10:44 AM
joch8705
1st Gear Member

Search for a thread called "Pure Sexy Eye Candy for Dummies". This guy did exactly what you are wanting to do.
Old 12-12-2011, 11:24 AM
ODDYSEY
Site Moderator of Fury!

You mean valve covers, throttle body, and fuel rails. You wouldn't want to remove your heads to paint them.

And yes this thread is what you need.

https://mustangforums.com/forum/2005...k-suicide.html

I just did this last week and will be finishing up tomorrow. Pretty straight forward, just take your time.
Old 12-12-2011, 05:49 PM
kevilay
2nd Gear Member

i see now that its a valve covers and not the heads. Thanks for the info!
Old 12-12-2011, 07:53 PM
kevilay
2nd Gear Member

whats involved in pulling off the throttle body, valve covers and fuel rails. My car is out in storage right now. Wondering what I would need to know/have to go out there and pull them off
Old 12-12-2011, 08:24 PM
Lethaldosage423
4th Gear Member

lol pulling the heads off is a MAJOR job!!!