Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

electrical or fuel puzzle 428 super cobra jet

Old 02-19-2012, 06:18 AM
coach

Default electrical or fuel puzzle 428 super cobra jet

Selling a 69 mach 1 428 super cobra jet. Drove the car this summer (drove fine)(9 yr old restoration) put it in storage (with stabile in gas) in Oct, took it out(yesterday, Feb 17) and drove and within in 6 miles it was skipping, stalling, wouldn't idle and when I went to turn key off the car kept running. History of car, I am selling it for a friend that has passed away and had the buyer here. Felt bad for him, but the car has always performed well, this was totally unexpected.
I am not a mechanic. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 02-19-2012, 08:44 AM
2+2GT
6th Gear Member

Too easy. The 428 was equipped with a Holley carburetor. Five months of drying out have trashed the carb, so the metering body gaskets have shrunk and are cross-flowing between circuits. A quick rebuild of the carb should do the trick. No adjusting will be needed, just get the new gaskets in and it'll perk right up.

Last edited by 2+2GT; 02-19-2012 at 08:46 AM.
Old 02-19-2012, 10:47 AM
coach

Thanks, I didn't restore the car, pulled the air cleaner and the carb is an edelbrock,
also why would the car keep running after I turned the key off. The car has been stored every winter since restoration and never an issue (always put stabile in the tank also).
It has an automatic choke which also works fine. I don't know if there is petronix ignition or he used points, Again, any suggestions greatly appreciated.
Old 02-19-2012, 12:26 PM
coach

Default electrical/gas problem 428 cobra jet

Originally Posted by 2+2GT