V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

New Edge Convertible Top Replacement - Doing It Myself

Old 05-08-2013, 03:35 PM
darcane

Default New Edge Convertible Top Replacement - Doing It Myself

So, a month ago I bought an '01 'vert for my wife. It's only a V6, it's got some blemishes, and the top was shot. But hey, it was cheap.

Some of the damage on the ragtop:

I've never done a convertible top before, but I found these instructions:
http://www.ehow.com/how_4446394_chan...d-mustang.html
and figured, "how hard can it be."
Old 05-08-2013, 04:26 PM
darcane

I've got the rag top completely removed now. For reference, those instructions are decent, but leave out details in some spots that would be useful. Most notably, so far, in removing the headliner. The order you remove it is important, and Step 18 really should be before Step 17.

The paint is coming off my header bow in sheets. Is this a common problem?

I haven't figured out how I plan on dealing with this yet.

Also, it seems like a dumb question, but where do you get tacking strip from? The vendors on this site seem to only carry it as part of a kit with the tops, and I already bought the top (as separate pieces).
Old 05-09-2013, 06:49 AM
BabyGT
5th Gear Member

I re used my old strips, also you should not have removed any part of the frame from the car to replace the fabric of the top. It's a pain in the @55 to replace the top. If I had another rip I'd be more than willing to pay someone the 1200 I was quoted to have it done. Biggest headache of my life.

I'd spray some rust inhibitor on that piece before I put it back on.
Old 05-09-2013, 09:51 AM
darcane

Originally Posted by BabyGT