4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

1996 Mustang GT Intake Valley

Old 06-25-2013, 07:04 PM
Aaron Bridges
1st Gear Member

Default 1996 Mustang GT Intake Valley

Hello I'm new to the thread, so be easy on me guys.

So I performed a full PI Swap on my 1996 Mustang GT about 2 months ago has over 200K Miles and seems to be running great however, there are a couple of things I'm wondering and will be willing to do immediately.

I don't know what the name of it is, but there is a small piece of plastic located at the back to the engine block at the intake valley and it literally crumbled in my hands I want to replace it but I don't know what it is can someone help me with what its called?

Also I DID NOT replace the heater tube or Heater nipple when I did the swap, on occasion I see the motor run a little warm like it gets n further than the A on NORMAL then the high speed fan kicks in and returns to Between R-M. should I go ahead and swap it out or could it be something else also I will be putting in a 180* T-stat if I swap it all out.

Thanks for the help Guys.
Old 06-25-2013, 08:31 PM
DJINN n TONIC

I DID NOT replace the heater tube or Heater nipple when I did the swap
On certain swaps, the coolant bypass tube causes clearance issues with the Intake manifold. If you were able to bolt the manifold down, you can move along. (Unless , of course you Crushed it...)
Old 06-25-2013, 08:47 PM
8111870a
1st Gear Member

you are talking about the dust cap @ the rear of the block. I think its referred to as a plug of some sort. Its not needed.
How did you install the PI intake without swapping out the tube? It completely interferes with the manifold sittting flush down in the valley.
Old 06-25-2013, 08:59 PM
Aaron Bridges
1st Gear Member