The Racers Bench Is the track just too much for you? Want to know what will beat what? Talk about it here!!

5.0 manual trans, drag racing

Old 07-04-2013, 01:59 AM
stealth_GT
6th Gear Member

Default 5.0 manual trans, drag racing

How much skill does it take to run some decent times with a manual trans and the new 5.0?

I haven't driven a proper (short gearing) manual trans for a long time.

Just curious of how much skill it takes to run a manual trans at the track.

My mind is on the auto but I am very curious of the manual trans. I am a decent driver at the track but love driving a stick day to day for more control...

do the newer cars (13-14) still have the problems of the 2011's?? Locked out of gear etc.

I can get a manual trans in a few weeks since it's in stock or 12 weeks for a special order auto trans...
Old 07-05-2013, 11:04 AM
BairdGT
2nd Gear Member

My first time at the track ever (as a driver) I was running between 12.86 and 13.18
now given I was locked outta 3rd gear (yes the '13 still has that issue not sure on the 14's) and I ran with full tank of gas (wasn't expecting to run that night).

The Track was Castrol Raceway in Leduc, Alberta, Canada which sits approx 2300-2400ft above sea level.

I have a '13 GT
Stock 245/45/19 Pirelli's
Steeda 101mm Intake
JBA Xpipe /w Cat Deletes
Roush Axle Back
Bama 93 Race Tune

2 issues with 11-13 mustangs
1) locking out of gears (heard mainly 3rd)
2) clutch pedal sticking when shifting at high RPMS

I resolved my issues by putting in a Barton 2 post short shifter and removed the helper spring and none of those 2 problems has come back yet.
Some have said they had to change their clutch line to resolve an issue but I thankfully didn't have to go that far to resolve mine.

Manual trans all the way
I would love an auto for rush hour traffic but I thankfully don't drive much in rush hour traffic
Old 07-05-2013, 02:43 PM
stealth_GT
6th Gear Member