Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Make own sequentials

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2010, 01:20 PM
smitty2919
5th Gear Member

Default Make own sequentials

This thread is not for the average joe I suppose as I have a ME degree and the basic knowldge of circuitry....this will prob get quite technical so I appologize for people wanting to do this but have NO clue what is being talked about.

That being said, I want to make my own for my 04 GT. Now, I know the inner light is a parking only light. I plan to add a brake/blinker wire tied in with the middle and outer lights (this light will not get a delay as it will be the first light on in the sequence).

Next step is delaying the middle and outer lights. I have looked into 555 timer's but I am still a little foggy on their exact function. From what I understood by researching is I would want them in Astable mode (sending signals periodically...becomes an oscillator). This would give me my desired on/off function. But the more I thought...I don't want the 555 to turn off my bulb...that will be taken care of by the blinker's Flasher under the steering column (expect I need to modify...more on that later).

So I am looking to use a simple resistor capacitor (RC circuit) design to delay my bulbs. It would be nice if I could get the sequence to blink within the allowable time from the stock flasher (which when all said and done my appear too fast). This is where the modified stock flasher comes in. I could either change the capacitor or the resistor to lengthen my blinking time.

I did some number crunching and guessed at these times/values:

For my middle delay of 1/2 sec, I would use a 10 microFarad capacitor with 10K ohm resistor. Giving me a time constant of .1 and a delay of .5sec (5 time constants)