Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

New System Going in this Saturday 18th!

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2010, 04:14 PM
mtflyboy25
3rd Gear Member

Thumbs down New System Going in this Saturday 18th!

Well since I got the base Mustang with no Sync/Sirius/Bluetooth I want some more boom...

So here is the system..
Kenwood Exceleron 9960 HU $1200
Hertz ESK 5x7s in front and rear $179 per pair
Custom Dual 10 inch ported box with 2 JL 10 inch W0s $250 for box build
1 600x6 JL XD amplifier to power the whole system...

I previously bought the amp and 2 subs, and am scheduled to get the darkest legal window tint on too, but the price for all this is and the install is like $2800.00 bucks... I am only fearful of installing all my stuff because the car is so new, and I have never done an AMP install before, just HUs and Speakers...

So please tell me what you all think... Should I just do the install myself? I want the Sirius radio and everything else installed too, so all the options are going in now... I still feel like the price is a little ridiculous.. What do you all think?
Old 08-18-2010, 07:08 PM
MOOK3456
4th Gear Member

Definitely install yourself. Obviously you still gotta pay for the box but the install is easy, especially the amp. If you get stuck and need help after you start just make another thread here, plenty of ppl to help ya.

Also you're gonna need the mustang wiring harness for the HU. As well as a dash kit since it's a double din HU (I'm assuming you don't have the factory nav). Metra sells one (I believe the only one out as of now for the 10's) it costs like $250.00ish if I remember right and replaces your stock climate controls. The only problem is, it's a little cheap looking, at least the buttons are.-

But thats all there seems to be atm.