Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

How do I know if SYNC is working in my 2010? After-market radio was insatlled

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2011, 03:09 PM
crewxp

Default How do I know if SYNC is working in my 2010? After-market radio was insatlled

Hey, I have a question for you SYNC owners, or anyone who might know.

I test drove a car yesterday that Im most likely about to buy. But I'm a tech junkie. And a feature I was really looking forward to might not be working on it. How do I know if SYNC works?

It's a used 2010 Mustang with a Kenwood DNX6160 Receiver. (Navigation type).
Link: http://www.kenwoodusa.com/Car_Entert...gation/DNX6160

It had a ipod cable that came from the glovebox to use. I guess it came with the receiver.

When I test drove it yesterday, I tried pressing the steering wheel to use SYNC. I said dial number, it said no phones found and would attempt to find one. Then...nothing. I thought maybe I just dont know how to use it.

It said to add a device, say "Connect then the device name". I did that, many times, but the system never recognized it. All other commands besides SYNC, System Health (whatever that is), and Phone worked.

I was wondering if whoever owned it previously, if when they added the after-market radio, it disabled SYNC. Is there a way I can find out?
Old 01-04-2011, 10:03 PM
wayne613
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by crewxp
I was wondering if whoever owned it previously, if when they added the after-market radio, it disabled SYNC. Is there a way I can find out?
From what you´ve stated so far, it sounds like it´s been kept. Does it still have a PAC stamped unit above or below the AM HU? As I understand it, there would need to be an interpretive unit to output to the AM HU to run into the Aux jack normally for you to still hear the dialogue through the speakers.