Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

looking for ideas for improving the sound in a 2013 gt?

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2012, 07:30 PM
suade907

Default looking for ideas for improving the sound in a 2013 gt?

OK, so I just ordered my car, got a 2013 gt with the track package, not the premium model. So I just have the base radio. I'm looking for ideas what I can do to improve the sound. I figure with the 4k I saved from going premium I ought to do something decent. I'm not looking to go crazy. I just want the sound to be very good and have a little bass without adding much weight if any to the car. I'd like to keep the stock radio so I guess I need ideas of speakers and how I get some more bass.

Thanks in advance I'm a radio noob.
Old 08-10-2012, 07:41 PM
suade907

Just out of curiosity because this car doesn't have sync and just the base head unit is it possible to replace the head unit without needing one of those double din kits? I actually have no idea what double din even means.
Old 08-15-2012, 03:43 AM
ttocs
6th Gear Member

You can start by simply upgrading the speakers, adding a sub/amp combo, or both if you want the budget generally dictates what can be done.

I thought the face of this radio was integrated into the climate controls on the '13 which would mean you will need a fairly expensive kit to mount an aftermarket radio in it.
Old 08-15-2012, 10:54 AM
suade907

That's what I figured. I saw some kits but I don't want to go that route so I'll probably just be using the stock radio and speakers and so on. I was hoping to get some suggestions if anyone has done this.

Thanks
Old 08-15-2012, 11:22 AM
jng2985