Go Back   MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > Audio/Visual Electronics
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Welcome to Mustang Forums!
Welcome to Mustang Forums.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-11-2014, 04:52 PM   #11
Chromeshadow
3rd Gear Member
 
Chromeshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Vehicle: 2012 Mustang Premium 3.7 6 Speed Manual
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 530
Default

Quote:
Grab an engine pulse off one of the injectors, just tap a wire.
Technically this is very good, but this is exactly what I would not do. What you are doing is running the pulse to the injector to an antenna ( the wire you use to tap into it). It may work fine, or it may cause intermittent problems that would be nearly impossible to track down. This tapped wire will also change the shape of the pulse. The shape of the pulse (fast rising and falling edges) are crucial to the level of the spark.
Decreasing the slopes will decrease the voltage going to the plug. It may be fine, but it may be enough to cause a misfire at some point.
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Mustang Forums!
__________________
2012 Mustang Premium 6 speed Manual
Starkey Fog Lights
5 spoke chrome American Muscle 18" x 9" wheels
Nitto 255/45ZR18 Tires
H&R Sport Front and Rear Sway Bar
J&M lower control arms
TMI adjustable tilt headrests
Gaslock LED Shift ****
Shelby door subs
Sony 200W amp

2009 Solstice GXP Turbo
2013 F150 XLT 4X4
Chromeshadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 05:31 PM   #12
NELS GT
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 522
Default

As a software engineer by day that sounds very appealing. So my one question comes from this part:

"Grab an engine pulse off one of the injectors, just tap a wire."

Truly just tap any wire from any injector? And I'll be able to find a discernible pulse pattern that matches the RPMs?
NELS GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 05:33 PM   #13
NELS GT
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 522
Default

@Chromeshadow - our posts crossed. I'd love the ardunio route cause like I said I'm a coder but I'd like to make sure whatever I do on the electrical side / tapping any wires is all good.

Is there another place I could tap to get these pulses and feed it to an arduino chip?
NELS GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 06:09 PM   #14
Chromeshadow
3rd Gear Member
 
Chromeshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Vehicle: 2012 Mustang Premium 3.7 6 Speed Manual
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 530
Default

RPM is available on the OBD II port, but reading it and converting to 0-5V it might be a big project. I don't know much about the ardunio unit, if it can read the OBD II info that would be really safe.
If I were going to tap of an injector, I would make a voltage divider to a ground near the injector and run shielded wire to the ardunio input. I'd start with a 10K ohm/50 ohm and take the signal from the middle. This should reduce the current pulse in the wire to the ardunio.
Still, if it were my car, I'd start from scratch and build something independent of the car electronics.
__________________
2012 Mustang Premium 6 speed Manual
Starkey Fog Lights
5 spoke chrome American Muscle 18" x 9" wheels
Nitto 255/45ZR18 Tires
H&R Sport Front and Rear Sway Bar
J&M lower control arms
TMI adjustable tilt headrests
Gaslock LED Shift ****
Shelby door subs
Sony 200W amp

2009 Solstice GXP Turbo
2013 F150 XLT 4X4
Chromeshadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 06:18 PM   #15
NELS GT
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 522
Default

Yeah OBDII latency is bad though. On an automatic transmission it might be passable, but when you hit those gears and see the delay it would be bad.

Would this help me at all? Curious if it reads the pulses and spits out an analog voltage.
http://www.americanmuscle.com/autome...pter-9612.html

EDIT: from what I'm reading in the manual I think this could be a start for me... Now the question is how I can easily and effectively divide that 12V signal to a 5V maximum.
http://www.autometer.com/download_instruction/0561B.pdf

The reason I'm stuck on 5V is because I already have the lighting & dimming controller and that's what it takes - 5V full brightness, 0V no light.

Last edited by NELS GT; 07-11-2014 at 06:39 PM.
NELS GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 08:08 PM   #16
Chromeshadow
3rd Gear Member
 
Chromeshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Vehicle: 2012 Mustang Premium 3.7 6 Speed Manual
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 530
Default

Interesting! btw, our computers should have a tach output, you might be able to run it to the ardunio unit.

I'm not sure using the Autometer adapter will give you an analog signal, I think all tachs are actually frequency counters, they count the number of ignition pulses and convert them internally for the dial indicator.
__________________
2012 Mustang Premium 6 speed Manual
Starkey Fog Lights
5 spoke chrome American Muscle 18" x 9" wheels
Nitto 255/45ZR18 Tires
H&R Sport Front and Rear Sway Bar
J&M lower control arms
TMI adjustable tilt headrests
Gaslock LED Shift ****
Shelby door subs
Sony 200W amp

2009 Solstice GXP Turbo
2013 F150 XLT 4X4
Chromeshadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 02:45 AM   #17
Ford-a-tude
2nd Gear Member
 
Ford-a-tude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Vehicle: 2006 Ford Mustang GT
Location: IL
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromeshadow View Post
Technically this is very good, but this is exactly what I would not do. What you are doing is running the pulse to the injector to an antenna ( the wire you use to tap into it). It may work fine, or it may cause intermittent problems that would be nearly impossible to track down. This tapped wire will also change the shape of the pulse. The shape of the pulse (fast rising and falling edges) are crucial to the level of the spark.
Decreasing the slopes will decrease the voltage going to the plug. It may be fine, but it may be enough to cause a misfire at some point.
You are mixing two different concepts. I said injector, fuel injector. You start with injector and in the same sentence switch to spark. I wouldn't mess with the inputs to the spark plug coils. I suppose you could end up with a misfire by doing that, which is why I did not suggest that. I know it will work fine because when I installed my alarm and remote start I did exactly what I suggested. This is how the unit knows the remote start has successfully started the engine.
__________________
Fordatude Custom Design Gauges
https://sites.google.com/site/fordatude/

Ford-a-tude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 10:37 AM   #18
Chromeshadow
3rd Gear Member
 
Chromeshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Vehicle: 2012 Mustang Premium 3.7 6 Speed Manual
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 530
Default

Ford-a-tude you are correct, I did jump from injectors to ignition coils. Glad to see you have tried this successfully.
Autometer also taps into the injectors, I'm sure they would get complaints if this was a problem.
__________________
2012 Mustang Premium 6 speed Manual
Starkey Fog Lights
5 spoke chrome American Muscle 18" x 9" wheels
Nitto 255/45ZR18 Tires
H&R Sport Front and Rear Sway Bar
J&M lower control arms
TMI adjustable tilt headrests
Gaslock LED Shift ****
Shelby door subs
Sony 200W amp

2009 Solstice GXP Turbo
2013 F150 XLT 4X4
Chromeshadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 07:28 PM   #19
jz78817
3rd Gear Member
 
jz78817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Vehicle: 2012 Ford Mustang GT
Location: Michigan
Posts: 695
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromeshadow View Post
Interesting! btw, our computers should have a tach output, you might be able to run it to the ardunio unit.

I'm not sure using the Autometer adapter will give you an analog signal, I think all tachs are actually frequency counters, they count the number of ignition pulses and convert them internally for the dial indicator.
it's quite likely the cluster operates the tach off of CAN messages and not a direct signal.
jz78817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 08:25 PM   #20
NELS GT
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 522
Default

Thanks a lot guys.

I'm going to grab an Arduino and try what Ford-a-Tude advised.
NELS GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 08:25 PM
MustangForums
Ford Mustang




Paid Advertisement

 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.

© Internet Brands, Inc.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company
Emails Backup