Go Back   MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > Audio/Visual Electronics
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Welcome to Mustang Forums!
Welcome to Mustang Forums.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2014, 11:52 AM   #1
Derek_Lauer
 
Derek_Lauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Vehicle: 2014 GT 5.0 track pack
Location: Oh, Nc
Posts: 2
Default Stock double din swap

Okay I've been trying to research this so here it goes. I bought a 2014 GT and I traded my old car which was a ford focus st in on this. My st was fully loaded it had everything what I really liked about it was the ford my touch the st had. When I bought my car I was in a rush and only had a day and a half to decide if I wanted it or not. I wanted one with a sync my touch but getting one was kinda out of the question. They couldn't find one with it with my track package I wanted. So I'm asking if I could find someone selling there stock ford my touch double din can I install it in my mustang? I don't care if it has nav or not. My car already has the sync and stuff just not the touch screen. I really appreciate your time.
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Mustang Forums!
Derek_Lauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 01:12 PM   #2
jz78817
3rd Gear Member
 
jz78817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Vehicle: 2012 Ford Mustang GT
Location: Michigan
Posts: 741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Derek_Lauer View Post
Okay I've been trying to research this so here it goes. I bought a 2014 GT and I traded my old car which was a ford focus st in on this. My st was fully loaded it had everything what I really liked about it was the ford my touch the st had. When I bought my car I was in a rush and only had a day and a half to decide if I wanted it or not. I wanted one with a sync my touch but getting one was kinda out of the question. They couldn't find one with it with my track package I wanted. So I'm asking if I could find someone selling there stock ford my touch double din can I install it in my mustang? I don't care if it has nav or not. My car already has the sync and stuff just not the touch screen. I really appreciate your time.
No.

The 2014 Mustang has an older electronics architecture, which means the MyFord Touch system your ST had won't work in the Mustang.

Also, the touchscreen navigation system the '14 Mustang is available with can't easily be installed into a car built without it; you have to have the dual-zone automatic climate controls which weren't offered in the non-touchscreen system.
jz78817 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 04:14 PM   #3
Derek_Lauer
 
Derek_Lauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Vehicle: 2014 GT 5.0 track pack
Location: Oh, Nc
Posts: 2
Default

I'm not asking if I can swap the st's I'm talking about taking it out of another mustang and putting it in mine.
Derek_Lauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 08:04 PM   #4
jz78817
3rd Gear Member
 
jz78817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Vehicle: 2012 Ford Mustang GT
Location: Michigan
Posts: 741
Default

Like I said, no. #1, Mustangs don't have MyFord Touch like your ST did. So there's no MyFord Touch to take from another Mustang. And you can't take it from any other car with MyFord Touch because (as I said) the electrical architecture is different.

#2, as I tried to explain, if your Mustang wasn't built with the touchscreen navigation system, you can't (easily) add it after the fact. the touchscreen setup came with the automatic climate controls; if you don't have the touchscreen, you don't have automatic climate controls. The module and CAN messages simply aren't there. Even if you did manage to transfer over the radio, screen, bezel, and controls, your A/C and heat wouldn't work.
jz78817 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 11:27 PM   #5
ticopowell
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Vehicle: 2014 Ford Mustang
Location: California
Posts: 436
Default

If you want a navigation radio you can do that, if you want to keep ford sync you can do that too, had you bought the premium with the nav radio already installed you would have both of those, but not much else.
If you want to keep sync and have a touch screen look at the raxiom radio, it might have what you are looking for, and it will be cheaper than most other options.
ticopowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 11:27 PM
MustangForums
Ford Mustang




Paid Advertisement

 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.

© Internet Brands, Inc.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company
Emails Backup