Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Need advice optimal way to install aftermarket amp/sub to shaker 500!

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2014, 09:31 AM
Spectre321

Exclamation Need advice optimal way to install aftermarket amp/sub to shaker 500!

Hell everyone! I'm new to Mustang Forums, I just got a 2011 5.0 with the Shaker 500 system. After researching for what feels like weeks now I'm trying to figure out the absolute BEST way to install an aftermarket subwoofer and amplifier. There are so many posts on forums all over the net that suggest certain ways of doing it, then other people chime in and say no this isn't the best way... and on and on and on.

Originally what I read was the easiest and best way to go about doing this was to get a PAC SNI35 LOC and tap into the connector on the back of the radio that has AUX + and AUX - for signal to convert into rca's. I ordered one, wired everything as suggested and my subwoofer makes no noise. The amp turns on, everything looks like it should work but nothing. I'm thinking that the wires I tapped into for signal probably aren't the optimal wires.

I've seen all over the internet people tapping into the rear speaker signals for their LOC and saying it sounds great, then other people say you shouldn't do that because the rear speakers lose bass frequencies at higher volumes. Others say an AudioControl LC2I 2-Channel LOC prevents this... I'm lost!

At this point I have all power, ground and remote wiring all ran. I also have:
- Custom sub enclosure
- 12" JL Audio 12w6v2 D4
- Jl Audio 500/1 amp
- PAC SNI35 LOC

Long story short, I need to know the BEST method to get the highest possible quality signal to my aftermarket amplifier, while keeping the factory head unit. I don't want to lose bass from my subwoofer at higher volumes! I want to be able to blast it and have nice crisp clear sound in my new Mustang! Help! Thanks
Old 08-17-2014, 10:29 AM