Classic Mustang General Discussion Make your non-Technical threads/posts in here.

V-Belt conversion

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2009, 07:51 PM
Bloo Beest

Default V-Belt conversion

I'm new to this restoration stuff, and I haven't worked on cars for years. I had made it a rule that I didn't work on cars (it's an ADD thing, used to lead to a lot of loud remarks that scared the neighbors. My wife made me stop. But I'm all better, now that I got the meds.)

So I got into the project of changing the ugly serpentine belts off and putting in a V-belt system that was more in line with the 67. It was difficult to get any information on the conversion, so I thought I would make a list of tips for anyone considering it.

I decided on a nice set of March pulleys. There are several varieties, and I settled on the three bolt balancer type. (After the four bolt type wouldn't work. Anyone in the market for a sluightly scrathed Four bolt pulley set for a 302?)

When you swap out the Sbelts you have to chuck all of the old brackets, mostly because they're ugly. I found I could not use the old steering pump because I couldn't find a Vbelt pulley that would fit the shaft. The only Vbelt pullets I could find were press fit as opposed to the current keyed shaft. So I got a rebuilt 67 style pump, A March bracket for it, and used a March pulley. Fitment turned out to be pretty simple.

I got generator from (don't remember off hand) and a real nice billet bracket. I ended up throwing away the bracket because it wouldn't fit with the timing cover. I went to a stamped steel bracket, and used the adjuster from the billet set.